Secrets of a Single Mom – What I learned in one year

Image

 

Yesterday was my little man’s first birthday and it has turned out to be one amazing year.  Together we have learned and accomplished so much.  It’s been the absolute best year of my life and I am so excited for what is coming.  Here are some secrets and a few things I have learned along the way.

1.  Inspiration will hit you when you least expect it!  Writing a book was on my “30 things to do before 30” list, which, honestly I hardly accomplished any of them besides marathon running, but I always thought it would be a novel.  Little did I know that one night while rocking Logan to sleep, would I come up with an idea for a picture book.  And the ideas keep on flowing.  Every few days, we do something together that sparks a title for another book, then another, and another.  I never would have thought that I would be able to work full time, take care of a baby by myself, exercise, coach fitness and nutrition, AND self publish my first children’s book.

2.  A humidifier is the best lullaby.

3.  Something may seem daunting, but if you relax, think it through and go at it head on, you’ll do it, do it well, and it won’t be nearly as hard as your mind made it.  I hear a lot, “I don’t know how you do it.” and here is how.  I plan and I make concessions.  For example, how does a mom get a baby, stroller, suitcase, duffle bag, and diaper bag to the airport all by herself?  I have to park at the Daily most expensive lot because I need to be able to walk and can’t take the bus myself with all of that.  How does a single mom exercise when you have a baby by yourself?  I either do it at night after bed, or I would rotate him through swings, playmats, Bumbos, etc until I was able to finish.  How do I find time to help other people lose weight or get fit?  I have to miss a favorite show, stay up late, or get up early.  There’s always a way, and it’s never as hard as it seems.

6.  Thank God for Pack N Plays and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.  Without those, I would never be able to take a shower without a screaming baby in the background.

7.  At some point, you have to ask for help, even when you don’t like to.

8.  Nose Frida.  Need I say more?

9.  Listen to you mom and your friends.  They’ve already been through it.  Not everything they tell you may work, but it’s waaay better than figuring it all out from scratch.  A lot of people complain about getting unsolicited advice.  I welcome it.  

10.  You can still have passions and be a single mommy.  If you something is important, you find a way to make time and do it.

11.  Your  little one’s smile is the best medicine.  No matter how hard it gets, and it does, that smile is what makes the world go around.  

I wish I could go back to it all from the beginning and do it all over again, try to make it go slower, relive it over and over.  We’ve had a busy year, having a baby (or being born if you look at it from Logan’s perspective), moved, switched jobs, became a Beachbody Coach, wrote my first 2 books, learned to crawl, learned to walk, learned to climb stairs, learned to say Doggie (pronounced DAH-EEE).  

I am excited to see what adventures and lessons the next year brings.  And!  What new books it will inspire.  Cheers to a million more happy birthdays!

Leave a Reply

